Juror Information

Information About Jury Duty

If you have been selected as a prospective juror for Churchill County for the year 2022, please complete and return the questionnaire. If your name is drawn during the coming year, you will receive a summons to appear approximately 10 days prior to the date you are required to be present for the Jury Selection process. The Jury Commissioner's Office is located at 73 N. Maine Street on the Second Floor. The right of a trial by jury is the privilege of every person in the United States. This right is guaranteed by the U.S. Constitution and the Constitution of the State of Nevada, which states "the right of trial by Jury shall be secured to all and remain inviolate forever." We thank you for supporting jury service and hope you find the experience both interesting and rewarding.

***If you are not a U.S. Citizen, or are a convicted felon without your civil rights restored, you are not eligible to serve on a jury. ***

135 Nev., Advance Opinion

In light of the recent decision by the Nevada Supreme Court, jurors when summoned will need to review their Summons as to which Court they will be obligated to report to on the day of trial. The decision now requires jury trials to be held at Justice Court New River Township, Fallon Municipal Court, and the Tenth Judicial District Court. The Summons will contain the specific address where jurors are to report to on the day of trial. It is critical that jurors bring their Summons and go to the address stated at the appropriate date and time.

Juror Handbook

Read through the Juror Handbook (PDF) learn more about what is involved in being a juror.

Frequently Asked Questions

You must answer the felony question and the citizen question on the reverse side of the form. We must know if you are a convicted felon or are not a citizen.

Failure to respond per NRS 6.040, the penalty for failure to appear for jury service may result in a contempt of court charge and a fine of not more than $500.00

Qualifications per NRS 6.010: "Every qualified elector of the state whether registered or not who has sufficient knowledge of the English language, and who has not been convicted of treason, felony or other infamous crimes, and is not rendered incapable by reason of physical or mental infirmity, is a qualified juror of the county in which he resides." Sign and return if you are not a U.S. Citizen.

Age Exemption: If you are 70 years of age or older, you do not have to serve. Please check the appropriate box on the form. Be sure to sign form and return.

Term of Service: Jurors are required to verify their reporting requirements using the information provided on their summons. If not required to report on your first assigned date, you are rescheduled.

Dress Code: Juror attire should reflect the dignity and professionalism of the Court. Please refrain from wearing shorts, tank tops, sweat pants, sweat shirts or t-shirts with offensive statements. The temperature of the courtrooms may fluctuate. Jurors are encouraged to dress accordingly.

Juror Fees: Only jurors selected for a jury are entitled to payment of $40 per day. Jurors will be paid by check within 2-3 weeks of jury service.

Required Notification: Jurors are required to provide updates for addresses, phone numbers, name changes, employment which should be indicated on the form. Any vacations, business trips, or other known potential conflicts should be addressed under comments on the back side of the form.

Miscellaneous: Jury selection may be a lengthy process. Please feel free to bring food items to eat while you wait in the Jury Assembly Room. We also suggest bringing reading material to occupy your time while you are not in court. All cell phones are required to be on vibrate while in the assembly room. During trial, they must be turned off or in airplane mode. During deliberations, juror's phones will be held by Court personnel until conclusion of the trial.

**If you have not completed your Jury Questionnaire please go to the i-Juror website.***