CDC EVICTION NOTICES

***LANDLORDS- Be advised that if your tenant has provided you with a CDC Declaration, all eviction proceedings must come to a complete halt. As per the current CDC order, the consequences of proceeding with eviction after receiving said declaration include a substantial fine and/or jail time. DECLARATIONS DO NOT APPLY IF AN EVICTION HAS ALREADY BEEN ORDERED BY THE COURT.***

Seven-Day Pay Rent or Quit (PDF) : Used if the tenant is behind on their rent. If the tenant pays the rent owed, or if the landlord accepts any partial payment, the tenant may stay and the notice is void. Either the Tenant or the Landlord may request mediation. If mediation is requested, the court will send the paperwork to Home Means Nevada. An eviction hearing will then be set 30 days from the date the paperwork is sent. Mediation will be set between the parties and the mediator within those 30 days. If the time lapses and the tenant does not pay, vacate, or request mediation, the next step is to file a Complaint for Summary Eviction. THIS IS THE ONLY NOTICE THAT GOES STRAIGHT TO AN ORDER FOR SUMMARY EVICTION.

30-Day Pay Rent or Quit (PDF) : Used if the tenant is behind on their rent AND the property is a federally backed mortgage property and is covered under the CARES act. If the tenant pays the rent owed, or if the landlord accepts any partial payment, the tenant may stay and the notice is void. Either the Tenant or the Landlord may request mediation. If mediation is requested, the court will send the paperwork to Home Means Nevada. An eviction hearing will then be set 30 days from the date the paperwork is sent. Mediation will be set between the parties and the mediator within those 30 days. If the time lapses and the tenant does not pay, vacate, or request mediation, the next step is to file a Complaint for Summary Eviction. THIS IS THE ONLY NOTICE THAT GOES STRAIGHT TO AN ORDER FOR SUMMARY EVICTION. 

Complaint for Summary Eviction for Nonpayment of Rent (PDF) : This is the final step for nonpayment of rent evictions and MUST be filed with the Court. Along with filing this document, the court requires all of your original notices, any and all returns of service for those notices, and a copy of the lease agreement (if there is one). After these documents are submitted to the Court, and the tenant has not contested the eviction, or requested mediation, an order will be done and filed. It will be the landlord’s responsibility to take this order to the Sheriff’s office for service. 

Affidavit/Complaint for Summary Eviction (other than nonpayment of rent) (PDF) : This is the final step for all other evictions and MUST be filed with the Court. Along with filing this document, the court requires all of your original notices, any and all returns of service for those notices, and a copy of the lease agreement (if there is one). After these documents are submitted to the Court, and the tenant has not contested the eviction, or requested mediation, an order will be done and filed. It will be the landlord’s responsibility to take this order to the Sheriff’s office for service.